Copper Rain Chains in the Garden

Rain Chains Direct Product Review Copper Blossoms at Crabtree Gardens

“Copper Blossoms” rain chain hangs in the Meditation Garden at Crabtree Gardens.

Copper pieces used as art in the garden have a way of adding perpetual beauty to the surroundings. When new, the warmth exuded by this shiny penny colored surface offers a just the right contrast to green, which is usually the predominant shade in most gardens. In the first few years as the copper slowly ages it takes on a browner coloring. Then over the next 10 years it ages to shades of green and finally after about 30 years, it takes on the longed-for patina of blue. The “patina” acts as a shell or covering to protect the copper beneath it. Unlike iron objects that will develop rust which is a degradation of the iron, copper only gets better with age. (Something I keep telling this gardener body every day.)

I have always admired those gorgeous copper rain chains that I would see hanging from the eves of homes in magazine photos and was recently given an opportunity to review one made by Rain Chains Direct. Even though I didn’t know the first thing about how to use it, I just loved the thought of being able to watch water gently flowing down the copper links. Not to mention that I was excited to get my hands on a beautiful piece of copper art for our Meditation Garden. I visited their FAQ page and all of my questions were answered.

Since I really didn’t know what they would be sending me to review, I knew I would be happy to receive even the simplest link design. It was such a pleasant surprise when Rain Chains Direct sent me one of their beautiful Floral Designs called “Copper Blossoms”. Their rain chains are made of 100% copper which is renewable (it’s a “green” product).

I knew that I wanted the rain chain to hang from our vintage garden shed in the Meditation Garden where it would become a piece of garden art. Even though rain chains are a functional way to direct water down from a gutter system as an option to conventional downspouts or even into a rain barrel, they can also be used for aesthetic purposes especially in the garden. I can just imagine a few of them hanging from lower tree branches in a shady area where it is difficult to grow flowers.

Water gently cascades down the copper floral cups of "Copper Blossoms" selection of the floral design line from Rain Chains Direct into a small pond.

In the Meditation Garden, a stream of water gently cascades down the length of “Copper Blossoms” which is a rain chain made of floral-shaped copper cups, a selection from the Floral Design Collection of rain chains available from Rain Chains Direct. The area surrounding the pond will become our new Rain Garden.

Since our garden shed didn’t have any gutters, with some assistance, I attached a temporary piece of gutter to the lower side of our garden shed to test the rain chain. A copper gutter installer was included in the box with the rain chain. I placed that inside the opening of the end of the gutter where the downspout would attach and inserted the pin through the link on the chain. Then I simply removed a copper link and shortened the rain chain (standard length is 8.5 feet). In a matter of one minute, the rain chain was installed!

 

Rain Chains Direct Product Review Copper Blossoms at Crabtree Gardens copper link on floral cup

Copper links are easy to remove for shortening the “Copper Blossoms” Rain Chain from Rain Chains Direct .

Rain Chains Direct gutter installer fits inside the downspout opening and holds the "Copper Blossoms" Rain Chain. Notice the beautiful mottled appearance of water droplets starting to begin the long-awaited patina process.

Rain Chains Direct gutter installer fits inside the downspout opening and holds the “Copper Blossoms” Rain Chain. Notice the beautiful mottled appearance of darkened spots from water droplets beginning the lengthy copper patina process.

We haven’t had rain in a few days so in order to test it out, I ran a hose into the gutter and wallah! A beautiful stream of water cascaded down the chain and into a small plastic pond we placed at the base (for photos). I was hooked! (Actually even without the water I was hooked.) The copper floral shaped cups alone were stunning against the green color of our shed. I love the rain chain with or without water. It is a versatile piece of garden art that can be functional for directing water down from a gutter into a rain garden. It can also be made into a water feature if a waterfall pump is installed in a small pond allowing the water to re-circulate up to the top of the chain. A permanent gutter will be installed on the shed allowing the rain chain to remain where it is. During the fall, I hope to create a rain garden at the base of it. Each day I see more tiny spots darkening on the copper which means that the lengthy patina process has started.

Rain Chains Direct Product Review Copper Blossoms at Crabtree Gardens flowing water

Garden product review of Rain Chains Direct “Copper Blossom” Rain Chain was done at Crabtree Gardens, LLC in Drums, PA by garden writer Sandi Crabtree.

I’m not really looking forward to winter, but I will be happy to be able to get some frozen winter photos of the rain chain with snow and ice covering it. A representative from Rain Chains Direct assured me that my Rain Chain can stand up to our Northeastern Pennsylvania Zone 5 winters. I am very pleased with the high quality of the product and the ease of installation.

*Rain Chains Direct gave me this product to review. The opinions are completely my own based on this experience that I had with this product. I received no monetary compensation for this review.

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Garden Product Review, Gardening, Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Copper Rain Chains in the Garden

  1. Liz says:

    Only Sandi Crabtree could find “Copper Blossoms” for her garden!!! You can even make us like a rainy day…What an interesting and beautiful addition to Crabtree Gardens!!!

Leave a Reply

