Melting

Snowy pictures 013We are on the downhill now as winter slowly drags itself away. At least that’s what I’m feeling after seeing ground for the first time in weeks. I’ve been in a hibernation mode and I just needed a little bit of sunshine and spring-like temps to get me into a better frame of mind. Snowy pictures 036

The melting began and I feel much better.  It was a little touch-and-go there for me a few days ago when a nasty cold and cabin fever attacked me at the same time. I knew that I needed to brave the weather, get air and grab some photos of the arctic tundra that the garden had become.  I had good intentions, but I was deterred by the thigh-high drifted snow filling the paths cut by the snow blower a few days prior.  I was too weak to navigate through it so I gave up and headed back towards the house. But before I left I made myself be mindful of the cold, crisp air that froze in my nose as it tried to pass through my swollen sinuses.  It actually felt good and it only took that one little thing to put me in a little better place.  I raised my vibration to a higher level by breathing in and appreciating the air,  that inspired me to try for a few photos anyway.

Snowy pictures 027

Snowy pictures 035

Snowy pictures 034Our first annual Winter yogi-fest will take place here on Saturday, Feb. 22 from 12-3pm.  We are expecting a great turn out for an afternoon of yoga, meditation, nutrition, chair massages, henna tattoos and even S’mores by the fire pit (which is still covered in snow).  It will give visitors a chance to come together for the purpose of connecting to their higher-self through the positive energy of the gardens and each other. I am hopeful that the good energy they bring with them will raise the vibrations here enough to melt whatever ice and snow remains.

Snowy pictures 004

For more of my winter garden photos check out my article on Pennsylvania Gardener Magazine’s eNewsletter Nature’s Sparkling Gems.

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Melting

  1. To quote the Beach Boys “I’m pickin up good vibrations” — you always find a way to brighten the way…love the post!!!!!

  2. Jean says:

    Do we have the warm vibrations from your Yogi-Fest to thank for that tease of spring we got over the weekend? Even though we still have a few more weeks of snow and cold to get through, I can see signs of spring. It’s not just that the days are longer; the trees are putting on that fine new growth and the smaller branches are turning red. If you cut some of those forsythia branches with the fat buds on them, I bet they’d be in bloom in your house within a week. 🙂

  3. Yes Jean, we got enough warm vibes to melt the top layer of soil and provide us with about 3 inches of mud! We will gladly take it though. Thanks for reminding me to bring in some of those forsythia. I’m headed out today to do just that. May spring descend upon you quickly. I’m so glad you stopped by. I’ll pop over and visit you too~Thanks!

Leave a Reply

