Finding Serenity

Finding Serenity Her Way at Crabtree Gardens

I wasn’t looking for it by any means. I just happened to stumble upon it as I searched for other things of horticultural interest that could pique the attention of the Facebook News Feed-hungry viewers.

As I lamented over what I thought would make a good attention grabber for the image addicted followers, just then I tripped.

It snagged my shoe, it caught my attention, and it literally brought me to my knees.  I brushed off the covering of rain soaked leaves and there it was, hiding right in front of my face- SERENITY.

I found SERENITY creeping through my cold, wet, late winter garden looking at every bud and stem, trying to compose a good photo to share with other gardeners who would appreciate my dedication to this slinking about. And right there it was, the hint I needed to remind me that I didn’t need to come up with something photo worthy.

I needed that hint to remind me that there are so much more important things that are happening beneath the surface that don’t get the attention they deserve.  Seeing those soft brown curling leaves beginning to slowly decay brought me the feeling of JOY. I know that in a few short weeks, they will be broken down and devoured by the soil organisms and in turn their castings will be taken up as nourishment by the roots of my plants. It reaffirmed my belief that allowing leaves to remain in the garden is a low-maintenance, high advantage way to naturalizing your garden.

It’s the last day of January and I found SERENITY. Finding SERENITY reminded me to feel JOY.  I’m right on target with my plan to find JOY every day. I can hardly wait to see where and how I find it in February.

In what ways do you find serenity?

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Finding Serenity

  1. finding peace in a hectic day is not so easy. there are times, i think i will never find it, but then… when i am not looking – it suddenly appears. it could be in a song or gazing into the sky or just like you – finding it right under your feet…

  2. Hugging my children close and smelling their hair, my husbands laughter, creating stories and pictures for children, painting Angels and always being grateful. Terrific post:)

  3. Chris Leskosky says:

    Serenity, that’s easy…first it would be creating designs out of beautiful foliage and flowers.
    And second would be walking around my garden seeing the haven I have created not only for myself but for others (and wildlife) to enjoy.

  4. It usually finds me because the pursuit is not the thing it is the journey.

  5. Great answer Jagged 🙂 Thank you!

  6. I actually find Serenity in just being at home. It’s like I’m sittin’ there on the sofa watchin’ TV, and all of a sudden Serenity will come up and tap me on the shoulder and say, “Scoot over. I want to join you for awhile.” It’s just me and Serenity hangin’ out for a couple of hours…and then the phone or doorbell will ring, and Serenity vanishes. Sigh! 😦

  7. Anna B says:

    Walking on a nice day, just alone with my thoughts. Lovely post : )

  8. eastwitching says:

    Very lovely sentiments in this post. I find serenity when walking my Jack Russells (yes – it is possible LOL) and being in nature..

  9. That’s lovely! I find joy every day in small refreshments, such as a nice cup of tea and a freshly baked scone. While I’m supping my tea and devouring my scone, I feel utterly content. Sometimes just thinking of a happy memory brings joy too, and gardens, flowers, plants and scenery contribute a lot to those memories.

  10. Jean says:

    Sandi, This is a charming post. For me, serenity (and joy) are almost always found through connection with nature (although preferably not through falling on my face). During winter full moons, I like to turn out all the lights in the house, light a candle or two, and then watch the moon rise through the woods behind my house in Maine. (If there’s snow on the ground to reflect the moonlight, even better!) One day this week, we had a some light snow overnight in Gettysburg. It started wet and stuck to the trees, but then got drier as the temperature fell during the night and ended with a layer of glitter. My walk to work the next day took a bit longer than usual because I couldn’t resist taking the time to stop and peer at the magical effects of the glittery snow on trees and buds along my way. I arrived at the office with a big smile on my face and feeling serenely grounded and ready for the day.

  11. Jean, you have a really beautiful way with words~thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

