Poppy Pants?

This is a fun post. We are in a Zone 5 winter freeze here but we’ve still got colorful flowers blooming  in our gardens thanks to this whimsical attire worn by niece Katy.  Blooming Pants at Crabtree Gardens (15)

She arrived on Saturday wearing this one-of-a-kind flowering vine with big flowers and fabric leaves on her jeans.  I just couldn’t help myself!  They were a breath of spring on this otherwise bleak winter day.

Blooming Pants at Crabtree Gardens (10)There is a ton of work involved here folks!  Look at all of the hand sewing on this design.

These masterpiece jeans are the creation of a friend of Katy’s named Dawn Heim.

Blooming Pants at Crabtree Gardens (26)

There’s some beautiful hand painted artwork in this cute vine climbing right up to her hip.

I asked her to do some poses to look as if she were a vine entwined around our Gratitude Tree. I’m no professional photographer but it was fun asking.

Blooming Pants at Crabtree Gardens (20)

Katy was truly a good sport about the whole photo session, we had so much fun! The Lemon Drop martinis made it even better.

Blooming Pants at Crabtree Gardens (14)

Now I’m loving these jeans so much, I’m asking Dawn to create a masterpiece for me.  Could there be poppies and leopard on them?  You bet! Can I pull-off this look? I guess we’ll see….. stay tuned!

What do you think? Where would you wear these fun frocks? In the garden perhaps?

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Poppy Pants?

  1. I think these are fabulous, and where better to wear them than in the garden? They look right at home there, beautifully modelled by your niece.

  2. Thanks everyone! I enjoyed this one!

  3. Sheri :) says:

    That was so much fun, and so talented. Brought a big smile to my face this Monday evening. How creative!!!!

  4. Sheri, I smile every time I see them too! Thanks.

  5. Katy Hartigan says:

    Sandi anyone can pull this look off. The pants are all about you! And your awesome. so rock it like you own it cause you do. I love the pics. Thanks for a great day and the lemon drop martinis are a quintessentail element of staying warm thought the snow and chill.Thank you David for keeping us warm so proper photos were taken

  6. what a wonderful reminder that spring is on the way…
    poppies and leopards — so chic!!!!! perfectly you!!!! ~

  7. Love this–I was just flipping through Feb. Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar and contemplating getting more poppies into my wardrobe (there are a couple). Maybe it’s because I am also in Zone 5!

Leave a Reply

