JOY in the garden

New year,  new word-JOY! Instead of a list of resolutions I’m using one word to carry me through the year. I am planning on finding joy everyday in every way and I am believing that I will succeed.

To start off this year of blogging I decided to fill a post with more photos than words. These are my favorite photos all taken with a Nikon Coolpix P90 camera right here at our gardens in Drums, PA.  I hope that you are able to find a bit of joy in seeing them.

Poppies- papaver ‘Matador’Crabtree Gardens Matador May 2012 Her Way

Painted Lady butterfly (Vanessa carduion) on butterfly bush buddleja

Crabtree Gardens Painted Lady on Butterfly Bush

Tree Peony peaonia suffruticosa ‘Seidei’  with husband in the background holding a 9″ dinner plate.

 May 5 2012 001

Iris- unknown name but very fragrant- it smells like ripe peaches.

Her Way at Crabtree Gardens Iris 2012

Red-spotted Purple butterfly Limenitis arthemis  on hydrangea. This photo was voted BHG photo of the week

Crabtree Gardens Red-spotted Purple Butterfly on Hydrangea

Daylily hemerocallis ‘Daring Deception’

Her Way at Crabtree Gardens Daring Deception Daylily 2012

Morning glory Ipomoea purpurea ‘Grandpa Ott’s’ and Sweet autumn clematis clematis terniflora.

Crabtree Gardens Sweet Autumn Clematis and Grandpa Otts Morning Glory

After posting these photos, I’m brought back to the warm days of summer and I’m feeling great joy just thinking about it.

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to JOY in the garden

  1. What a splendid selection of beautiful images, that tree peony is spectacular!

  2. Chris Leskosky says:

    LOVE the Iris! Your pictures are spectacular.
    Like the one word concept.
    Hmmm…stealing the idea. My word is Believe.

  3. sandi, you are one of my inspirations! i can’t wait to see what “possibilities” 2013 will bring!!!! wishing you a happy new year!!!!

    as promised: here’s my blog… http://alongtheway123.wordpress.com

    • Liz, I am so very proud of you, your photos are just amazing! i know your blog will be great and I’m looking forward to your posts. I’m your # 1 follower! Good luck and congrats!

  4. Sandi, these photos are breathtaking!!! Peonies won’t grow here-it’s too hot, and this one is gorgeous. I was just reading a post yesterday about having one word to focus on for the new year, and really like the idea…but haven’t decided on mine yet.

    And, yes, these beautiful pictures bring great joy, thank you! ~ Marsha

  5. wanderoneday says:

    Gorgeous photos! I especially love the butterfly on the hydrangea. I just posted about my word for the year, “Explore”. Hopefully my explorations lead me to Joy!

  6. Anna B says:

    Wow! Your photos are amazing! The butterflies are stunning. What a wonderful start to the new year 🙂

  7. Ditto to all these comments. My favorite is the poppy – I envy you! I failed miserably at poppies here in central North Carolina and they remain my biggest garden fantasy.

    • Sarah-at a previous home I tried for years with poppies. Here 5 years ago, I started with 1 tiny piece and put it in an area that I never thought it would grow and they took off! There is hope! Thanks for visiting. Sandi

  8. the quality of your photos is most impressive, Sandi.

  9. This post is JUST BEAUTIFUL! I am dying for gardening season . . . .

  10. Joy. Nice word but even better place to reside. I love all the pics and the story of the Gratitude Tress. Very Cool but I have to admit the Painted Lady is my favorite and awesome!

  11. Pingback: Finding Serenity | Her Way at Crabtree Gardens

  12. Pingback: Simple Elegance | Her Way at Crabtree Gardens

  13. Pingback: Bees and Color | Her Way at Crabtree Gardens

Leave a Reply

