King Tut’s Gold Garden

On November 29, 1922 King Tut’s tomb was opened and it’s golden treasures were finally  revealed to the world.   So in honor of this historic event, I thought it would be nice to share some of Crabtree Gardens’ golden botanical treasures today.

I’ve compiled photos of some of our flowers and plants that I thought could be considered gold, even though the colors lean towards yellow and a bit of chartreuse.  They are all garden stalwarts and need no special care.

First on the list is the sunflower or helianthus.  This beauty self-sows all over our gardens.  I don’t know where it came from, perhaps the birds, but I just love it for the numerous stems of flowers it provides for cut arrangements.

Next on my list is sedum (unsure of this cultivar).  Many people despise it because it spreads everywhere, but this tiny plant is welcome anywhere it shows in our gardens. It graces us with these bright yellow flowers and covers bare ground easily.  Even if a tiny pieces breaks away from the plant it will root without much help.  It takes drought and is basically carefree.

Oneothera, or evening primrose is also a ground cover that gives us a bright show in spring.  It too is an aggressive mover in the garden and it is truly a die-hard.  I love to intermingle it with iris because they can really stand up to each other.

The Asiatic lily, lilium is grown from a bulb and will readily propagate itself (spread) from the base rewarding you with other small lily bulbs that can be moved around your garden.  It’s relatively pest free for us, with the exception of a wandering hungry deer or bunny.  This particular variety was labeled as ‘Connecticut King’ however I see conflicting information about that name on other sites so I will just call it a yellow Asiatic lily.

The leaves of this heuchera ‘Key Lime Pie’  have a golden/chartreuse color that remains all growing season here in our Zone 5 garden.  It is also an easy care perennial that can be considered a ground cover.  It divides easily and is a quick grower and we use it where ever we need a jolt of brightness.  Here it is inter-planted with geranium sanguineum and gives the best color if planted in sun but it also can take some shade well too.

Although the color of this iris will become more of a peachy-gold, I love the golden color of it’s outer petals as it unfurls the treasure of peach in the center.   Iris, which is a rhizome is extremely easy to grow and again, would be considered a ground cover.  I hope you are getting the theme here- easy care ground covering plants that require no maintenance.  They are truly treasures to us!

And of course no garden could be complete without the happy faces of rudbeckia hirta or Gloriosa Daisy. Self-sowing and covering ground these golden beauties are very hardy and provide weeks of color in the summer and fall.

Another easy care golden beauty is the daylily.  This particular cultivar was already planted at the Cottage when we purchased the property.  I have not yet tried to identify what cultivar it is.  If any of you do know, I would appreciate your thoughts.

The “king” and most important golden flower grown here is the herb solidago or more commonly known as goldenrod.  It blankets our field with a golden haze in September and is a favorite plant of many pollinators because of it’s ecological friendliness. I found this fantastic article about it written by Scott Shalaway called Get Into Nature: Insect live cycles begin and end with goldenrod. There are numerous medicinal and cosmetic uses for it too.  I can’t imagine not having it in a garden!

I hope you consider using some of these common and easy care plants in your gardens.  Their easy-care nature and easy adaptability will reward you with a treasure of color for many years.

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to King Tut’s Gold Garden

  1. Chris Leskosky says:

    So wonderful to see these golden beauties when it is only 31 degrees outside!

  2. I love yellow in the garden. There are some wonderful yellow baptisias that I think would fit right in with your theme.

  3. Your golden treasures bring a smile to my face, and it is so nice to find someone else who loves goldenrod. It’s one of my favorites, but everyone I know thinks it is a weed and causes hayfever! Marsha

  4. I love the diversity in your garden. Nice photos and the Monarch….very nice!
    I have one question though: No Daffodils? Really? 🙂 Jut kidding.
    Thanks for preserving so much beauty.

  5. Ha! Ha! John, I thought the same thing, but the only photos I had of daffs were from my 10 year old Sony Mavica and I was really embarrassed with the quality. There’s no way I was going to try to post something like that after seeing your Daffodil Hill Photography banner. 🙂 I have to wait until spring to be able to get new ones! Never realized how bad the quality was until I was given the Nikon Coolpix P90 camera by the niece- can’t even imagine having a really good one like yours and also knowing what to do with it!

  6. Your beautiful golden treasures have cheered me up no end, thank you!

  7. Rene Yoshi says:

    Beautiful flowers and photos!

  8. Laurrie says:

    Those are some glorious golds! I especially love the oenothera — I have a taller variety of sundrops and it is impossible to show what a clear, bright beacon of sunny yellow they really are. They glow from afar. All your bright golden yellows are a cheer-up on this December day.

  9. I am happy to say I have most of these golden beauties growing in my garden! Lovely pics. P. x

  10. I had a post on gold in the garden 3/4 drafted last spring and never finished it when garden designing season kicked in. But Heuchera “key Lime Pie”!!! Love, love, love. I picked up one of those in a rush of passion last spring, too!

    • Must say, these golds are my absolute favorite colors. I just love yellow, my entire house is painted a butter yellow inside with white trim and I just had new siding installed and it’s also butter yellow. 🙂 Key Lime Pie heuchera is such a pleasant plant, it does well everywhere. Thank you!

  11. Sheryl says:

    The golden flowers are absolutely beautiful!

  12. I really do think that golden flowers are my favorites. Or at least at this time of year when I crave sunshine. Thanks for brightening my day! I love Sunflowers and Goldenrod. The yellow blooms can be difficult to photograph, but you’ve done an excellent job!

Leave a Reply

