Loving Life

I love it, the smell of fall, decaying leaves and crisp air, soups simmering and casseroles baking, eating pumpkin pie and drinking hot spiked rum in the field. I love the look of fallen leaves on the bright green grass.

I wait all year for the mums to open, too busy to pinch them back in June, they grow tall and flop over, it never fails.  I always make a note for the following year but can’t seem to find the time to do it. I can’t imagine how they would look if I did.

The mature dried plants in shades of brown with their big seed heads standing up tall for birds to find their nourishment rustle in a slight breeze and add a welcome sound to the garden.

In fall, yellow seems brighter because of the lower angle of the sun and the asparagus foliage seems to take on a florescent effect.

Golden-yellow leaves contrasting against the dark trunks of the two giant maple trees light up the space which is usually dark and cool in summer. I love contrast. In life, one needs contrast in order to learn what they don’t like so that they may one day find what they do like and follow that path forward.

Nature gives us a bounty of her beauty everyday, it’s up to each of us to find it and dwell within it.

Fall is my time of year, cooler temperatures allow me to work in the garden longer and with each spade full of earth I disturb in order to find new homes for spring blooming plants, I am so very grateful.

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Loving Life

  1. Chris Leskosky says:

    Simply beautiful Sandi! You make me stop and look at my garden in a different way! 🙂

  2. yinyin says:

    The photo of your garden under the “yeallow painted sky” is just like a dream comes true ! love it!

Leave a Reply

