Floating Hearts

‘Grandpa Ott’s’ Morning Glory climbing up rosemary.

Heart Shaped Leaves in the Garden

Sometimes you come across a really good idea and then Nature steps in and works her magic to make it even better. I constantly tell people to lighten up on all the weeding and allow some unwanted seedlings to remain in their gardens because you never know what great combination can happen.

I over-wintered a rosemary plant right next to the foundation of the Cottage in a sheltered sunny spot in our Zone 5 garden.  I was really proud that I was able to have thick stems big enough to use as skewers for grilling.

Nature threw in seed from “Grandpa Ott’s” Morning Glory and it climbed right up the rosemary. With its vine hidden and the large leaves in perfect upright heart shapes, it looks as if they are floating in mid-air.  What an interesting effect!

“Work with her or against her, either way Nature will have her way.”

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Floating Hearts

  1. Jean says:

    Sandi, I’ve just recently discovered your blog at Blotanical, and I’m enjoying it very much. I do a monthly “Garden Blogs of the Month” feature on my blog, Jean’s Garden, where I review and recommend garden blogs that I think my readers would enjoy. Your blog is one of three that I am highlighting this month. My post reviewing your blog just went up, and your blog will be featured on my sidebar throughout the month.

    • Thank you very much Jean! It’s an honor to have been chosen by you, as my blog is fairly new. I love what I do and I love to share my knowledge with anyone who will listen!
      I just adore your blog (congrats on 3 years) and I am looking forward to a visit from you in person! One day, I hope you can review my book (just putting it out to the universe)!

  2. Pingback: Garden Blogs of the Month: October 2012 « Jean's Garden

Leave a Reply

