The Globemaster

They have arrived!  A big box of ‘Globemaster’ alliums, 24 giant bulbs in all is now in my possession and awaiting planting day.

You may be wondering what I’m all excited about and why I picked these Dr. Seuss like pom-poms.  Well honestly, to me they are the perfect plant. I can’t find anything negative about them, as it so happens they provide all of the good qualities that I am looking for in my low-maintenance naturalized garden.

Derived from the Latin word for garlic, allium is actually a part of the monocot genus but is more commonly referred to as belonging to the onion family, this particular type of allium is for ornamental use, and is not edible.

Alliums are considered perennials and their large spherical shaped flower heads are filled with small star-shaped flowers held on thin stems all supported by a sturdy stem known as a scape.

Allium ‘Globemaster’ which is a hybrid cross of A. macleanii Baker and A. cristophii, was awarded England’s Royal Horticultural Society Award of Garden Merit in 1995.  It has extremely long lasting flowers and is highly resistant to strong wind and heavy rain.

Photo credit: Van Engelen

The genus of allium is known to discourage deer, rabbits and voles because of the unpleasing taste, but they do however attract pollinators-a-plenty.  What could be better than all of this?  Well, I’ll keep going, they are known to grow in sun or partial shade, and they are hardy in US Zones 3-9.

I have had alliums in many gardens for years and I find them to be very dependable in the late spring and early summer and they require very little care. I downright neglect them and they still provide me with a gorgeous display every year.

In addition to the beauty they provide while growing, they can also be useful as a dried flower.  The flower heads can be left to dry on the scapes.

One year, I used dried alliums for a very modern Christmas display. I began by spray painting them white, followed by a light spray adhesive and then I sprinkled them with white snow crystals. The effect was striking, they looked like frozen fireworks.

Now all I need is the energy to plant these 24 giant bulbs in the borders near our covered bridge and in the courtyard gardens at the Cottage at Crabtree Gardens Guest House.

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Globemaster

  1. The Jagged Man says:

    Pictures to follow…………next spring?

  2. loriluv2 says:

    It’s an addiction!! Luv those alliums.

Leave a Reply

