Up and About

It’s the first week of August and I’m usually up and about taking photos of the new flowers that opened in the gardens before the sun is too bright.

As I made my way around the garden, at the base of the Performance Mound, I caught the heavy dew on the large soft fuzzy leaves of Stachys byzantinaHelen Von Stein‘ (lamb’s ear) which is new for our gardens this year. The ferny foliage next to it is Tagetes (unsure of cultivar).

As I circled around through the Purple and Pink Garden which is still not completely planted,  I liked this shot of the soft colored pink Hibiscus flowers. There are 4 large plants grouped into one huge mound near our old blue tool shed. The water from the heavy dew can be seen dripping from the leaves.

Continuing in a clockwise direction, I walked through our Rondel concentrating on the view to the left.  The Colocasia esculenta (Elephant-Ear) have finally taken off and are the focal point of this vignette. The giant leaves are quick growers.  I use this grouping in design classes to explain the use of plant texture to my students.

Glancing to the right, the fullness of the hydrangea caught my eye.  I planted 3 small  Hydrangea (H. paniculata Grandiflora) shrubs around a very young Japanese maple 5 years ago. My intent was to have all 4 plants meld into one giant grouping, knowing it would take a few years. This year the plan is actually starting to take shape.

As I proceed into the back yard of the farm house, I liked this lone Perilla fructescens  in between the hydrangeas.  There is also a spirea melded into the hydrangea on the left.  The contrast of the white Hydrangea flowers and the bold black of the Perilla is so dynamic.

And finally as I came back into the back of our farm house, I was presented with a glorious moment.  This stunning morning glory (not sure of the name) was the first one to open this season.  I love the blue color against the yellowish green foliage and burgundy stems. The center of it looks like it has a light inside. I can’t wait until the whole fence is covered with them!

About crabtreegardens

I am a passionate decorator and the head gardener at Crabtree Gardens, LLC, which is a five acre naturalized garden located in Drums, PA. I advocate chemical-free, low maintenance gardening methods and working along with nature. I'm a freelance garden writer and member of GWA: The Association for Garden Communicators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Up and About

  1. biggsis says:

    Beautiful gardens and photography!

Leave a Reply

